I’m Grabbing a Mop

 I have come to the conclusion that sitting around blogging is not being the change we need to be.  I have seen the pie fights, the trolls, the proliferation of meta diaries.  I have seen those who support the President called “Obamabots,” as if agreeing with this President is proof that we have no brains of our own.  I have watched the spectators throw tomatoes from the grandstand while the team is out trying to move the ball.  I saw the result of all this nonsense in the 2010 elections and now we are suffering the consequences.  Elections have consequences.  2012 is coming and I am grabbing a mop.

Our President has been faced with the worst succession of disasters, turmoil and nastiness that I have seen in my half century here or read about in my history books.  Only Abraham Lincoln has seen more division in the country, only John Adams and Thomas Jefferson have seen such chaos.  The response from American citizens has been to either attack the President or attack each other.  I don’t have time for this.  Our President asked us to grab a mop.  I am grabbing.

I am grabbing a mop because I can’t afford not to.  I am grabbing a mop because my own, my husband’s and my sons’ futures all depend on the success of this President and the failure of the new GOP agenda.  I am grabbing a mop because my younger son will continue to need my company’s health care for a few more years.  My husband and I are nearing retirement age, we will need social security and medicare.  My mother needs both.

I am grabbing a mop because my parents did without niceties and our family growing up did without vacations so my parents could put money away for their old age.  My husband and I did the same.  If this GOP is allowed to hold our country hostage on the debt ceiling, demanding the entire middle class surrender for the debt ceiling to be raised, all that we have put away for a stable future turns to dust.  Everybody’s savings, everybody’s investments will be rendered worthless.  All of our old people who wisely put away for a rainy day will be standing in the rain in soup kitchen lines.  I am grabbing a mop because I think that is a travesty.

I am grabbing a mop because instead of pushing social equality forward by legalizing rights for our LGBT community, this current crop of GOPers is trying to turn back the clock on women.  They are also trying to turn back the clock on workers.  They are trying to make our society into a nonagrarian feudalism, with major corporations as the holders of all the wealth.  I am grabbing a mop because a society is made up of people and people should be valued more highly than companies.  And they should be valued equally.

The mop I grab may not be the mop you may grab.  You may not like how I wield the mop, and you may not agree that the place I choose to clean up is the best place to start.  That is fine.  Grab your own mop.  Grab the mop of your choice and clean up the corner you prefer.  But as the President said, “Don’t go criticizing how I am holding the mop.”  At least I am mopping something somewhere.

Since I will be in the mopping business, I may not have time to show up and chat.  I may wander into WYFP or Brothers and Sisters now and again, but I will have to use most of my time scrubbing those ugly corners where the GOP is trying to leave their smelly little droppings.  Maybe after the 2012 elections I will have more time.  Meanwhile, I am grabbing a mop.

I leave you with these lovely words from Scott McKenzie:

Hey, what’s the difference if we don’t come back?
Who’s gonna miss us in a year or so?
Nobody knows us or the things we’ve been thinking
So what’s the difference if we go?

Meanwhile, I hope my mop can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

